New Year, New Resolutions

I’ve tried blogging before and usually I get to a good start, but like most things I never seem to keep it up.  But I love writing and the writing bug has been itching and biting so 2011 is hopefully the year to let loose in that department.  So a few resolutions:

1. Start a blog

2. Loose weight and keep it off (now I’m sounding like Bridget Jones)

3.  Drink less (again see above)

4. Read more (or else the title for this blog would really go to waste)

5. Make a dinner every Sunday night.

The reason for number five mostly stems from the fact that I will be moving out of my parents’ house and into my very first apartment in less than 13 days.  I suck at cooking.  It’s also extremely expensive to be eating out every day for lunch when I work in the SoHo area of New York City.  So if I want to survive and still have some cash for leisure spending, creating meals that will last for a few days during the week will definitely be a plus.

So, today was Sunday.  The recipe: Chili Mac from the Fat Free Vegan Kitchen blog.  Oh on a side note–half way through last year I decided to become a vegetarian–although I was recently on a meat binge when I was visiting Dublin for my birthday.  I’ve learned that 1. it’s not easy being vegan and 2. it can be very expensive.  Mostly because many of the ingredients are either organic or just not found in the local grocery store.

This particular recipe seemed fairly simple enough with the only hard to find ingredient being the nutritional yeast (or as Michelle referred to it–the Monestat), so I went to Whole Foods and was luckily enough to find Bragg’s Nutritional Yeast.  It’s supposed to serve as a cheese flavored substitute, but I definitely miss the nice cheesy consistency.

The recipe started off well.  I boiled water.  Then I poured a glass of wine.  Because i decided to boil a large pot of water over a low flame, I thought it might be best to start preparing the ingredients that required a little extra work and luckily for this recipe it was the onion and the kale.  My dad owns this handy vidalia chop wizard that allows me to chop a whole onion in two somewhat easy pushes.  Unfortunately my eyes were instantly burning and mascara dripped down my cheeks.  After I chopped the onion, I poured another glass of wine.  Resolution #3 already not working.

Then came the kale.  Kale is very tricky.  First, I almost bought red kale…then I switched to green kale…then during the slicing process i wish I stuck to the red kale.  To slice kale, first you need to fold the leaves in half and then slice the stem off.  Then roll the leaves into a cigar shape and start slicing thin strips.  Easy.  No.  Messy.  Yes.  As soon as you slice the stem off, all the little green curly leafs scattered making the cigar rolling a little…impossible.  Instead I just went for a squish and slice approach.  Which worked.  I then poured……another glass of wine.

Once the pasta boiled and the onions sautéed, I added the kale to the onions, then the pasta.  The frying pan instantly filled to the rim and I still had the rest of the ingredients to add.  Eventually Mother showed up and told me to step out of the way so she could mix up the ingredients without making a mess as i seemed to be doing.  I added the rest of the ingredients and then I asked my little sister to run down the ingredient list to make sure I hadn’t left anything out.  She read them off and then came to:


“Oh, fuck!”

My mother happened to still be in the kitchen and we were both surprised that she laughed when I dropped the f bomb.  With all the ingredients added, all that was left to do was wait.  And have another glass of wine.

The end result happened to be an amazing meal.  Everyone tasted the Chili Mac and really enjoyed it.  But I seemed to have made enough food for two weeks of lunch.  Hopefully this doesn’t affect resolution #2.

Reading now: The Secret Scripture by Sebastian Barry

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Megs on January 3, 2011 at 9:05 am

    Cheers to the new apartment! (if you have any wine left)


    • Posted by specialk122114 on January 3, 2011 at 2:28 pm

      Move in day is Jan 15 and I’ll make sure to save/ or taste test some wines for when you come to visit. And I’ll have grape juice ready for the baby.


Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

